Through Feed the Future, the U.S. Government is partnering with countries around the world to build a more food-secure future.

Feed the Future originally focused investment in a set of 19 countries in Africa, Asia, and Latin America and the Caribbean. In 2017, Feed the Future’s U.S. Government partners collaborated on a data-driven process to select 12 countries for targeted investment under the U.S. government’s new global food security strategy.

Recognizing the centrality of agriculture to ending poverty and hunger, Feed the Future will continue to invest in other high-need countries and work closely with regional programs to sustain development gains that have been made and capitalize on emerging opportunities.

The U.S. Government also coordinates activities and support at the regional level in Asia, Central America, and East, Southern and West Africa to improve food security and nutrition through Feed the Future.

Feed the Future Target Countries

These new target countries were selected based on level of need, country commitment to food security investment and policy reform, opportunity for partnership, the potential for agricultural growth, opportunity for regional integration, and U.S. Government resource availability.

Please check back for more information.

  • Bangladesh
  • Ethiopia
  • Ghana
  • Guatemala
  • Honduras
  • Mali
  • Kenya
  • Nepal
  • Nigeria
  • Niger
  • Senegal
  • Uganda

Focus Countries

Visit each country’s web page for more information on our approach and the exciting progress Feed the Future has helped achieve. Multi-year strategies for these focus countries expire in 2017.

Note that the 2017 country plans will replace the multi-year strategies in the 10 former focus countries that were selected as Feed the Future target countries.